Pin of the Day, April 12, 2015

 

I love this picture. I’m so inspired by the romance of Paris. I’ve never been, but I must have lived there in another lifetime. 

When I look at this coloring page, it reminds me of the stories I write. This picture tells a story, but it’s up to you and me to add the color to it. That’s where I am with my current works in progress. I write. I revise. Then, I go back and add the extra details that are missing. I give the pages color. 

One thing I’ve learned from recent critiques I’ve received is that I do a great job of telling a story, but I need to work on showing the story. This feedback has been so helpful to me. I get it now. I feel like I’ve found a missing piece of a puzzle, and now I can put it all together. 

I can make my picture any color I want. It, like our stories, relies greatly on the details. It could end up dark or vibrant or both. That’s the beauty of writing. You never know where you’ll end up, and you have the freedom to express all your colors.

I hope you find your inspiration and add some color to your life. Here’s to ideas that flow and word counts that grow. Write something good today! 

CARPE DIEM

Leave a Reply

